Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Antonio, TX Ophthalmologist James D. Lehmann, M.D. Laser Vision Correction Services

Patient Feedback

When it comes to your eye health, it's important to make sure you're placing your trust in only the best in the field. Your full team of general care practitioners understands this, which is why many of our peers refer patients to Focal Point Vision regularly. With three convenient locations spread throughout the Greater San Antonio area, our board-certified ophthalmologists are pleased to provide a range of advanced services for men and women experiencing eye complications, ranging from common to highly rare. Utilizing state-of-the-art technology and innovative techniques, we can restore your eye health and enhance your visual acuity. To learn more about the experiences of our past patients, we invite you to browse through our collection of reviews and envision the care you can expect when you visit our San Antonio, TX office.

Filter19 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2022

Dr. Lehmann, Dr. Conner and Dr. Daughtry have all made a positive impact on my life with their help on my ICL surgery. I had an eye infection nine years ago that created scar tissue over my right eye’s cornea. When I first sought out LASIK doctors told me my eye was too fragile with its scar tissue; I was pretty disappointed that there may not be a way for me to get out of my glasses. I have been a dancer all my life and the change in my eye’s health changed the way I was able to dance and perform. It wasn’t until this past year that a doctor in Austin recommended Focal Point Vision for its surgeons, Dr. Lehmann and Dr. Maverick, and the ICL procedure. I went in for a few consultations before I was green-lit by Dr. Daughtry to meet with Dr. Lehmann, who performed my surgery. I am impressed by how well the entire team handled my scheduling and worked together to make sure I was informed and comfortable for the operation. I was filled with great relief when Dr. Lehmann told me I was a candidate for ICL after so many no’s on LASIK (understandably after I learned more about the two operations). While ICL could not ‘erase’ the scar tissue on my cornea, the operation has already brought a great improvement to my day to day life. The day of my surgery, Dr. Lehmann’s surgical techs, Holly, Gina, and Ashlea took great care of me before the surgery and I want to make sure to give them a shout out and thank you! They were all professional and inspiring in how well they treated me. The operation itself was short and easy. A few hours post-operation I met with Dr. Amy Conner. She blew me out of the water with her professionalism, empathy, and knowledge; Within minutes under her care I joked I was going to find a way to put her into my will for how great of a doctor she is. I will settle for naming my first born child after her (Kidding). A huge thank you to Dr. Amy Conner, I would recommend her to anyone who is looking for an informed doctor who leads with her knowledge and emotional intelligence. She took care of me on an intense day with swiftness and expertise. The evening of my operation Dr. Lehmann called me to check in. He knew the details of my follow up with Dr. Amy Conner and was there in case I needed anything. After the call I looked to my mom and said, “Holy cow. I bet he’s been up since 3 or 4am and just finished his day and still called me. Wow.” It was definitely above and beyond. I don’t expect my surgeon to give me a personal call - they are busy giving people new eyes! Still I felt like my operation was in the best hands it could have been. The day following my surgery I woke up feeling incredible. My mom could not believe how well I could see. I was even able to drive both myself and my mom home and have felt comfortable ever since. To anyone contemplating ICL, I cannot recommend this team enough. I am so grateful I can see now without my glasses. I have been through some tough times these last nine years with my vision. I have also had some pretty depressing eye doctor visits that left me feeling hopeless and some that misdiagnosed me in other clinics. I am so fortunate to have been able to visit Focal Point Vision. Thank you, FPV, for giving me my dancing freedom back without the stress of contacts or glasses. It means the world to me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2022

I am totally amazed and so grateful for the cataract surgery and care I received at Focal Point Vision at the hands of Dr. James Lehmann and staff. Before my surgery, I wore gas permeable hard contact lenses for over 35 years as a result of deformed corneas from Radial Keratotomy surgery. One year back I had successful retinal detachment surgery which quickly lead to a fast growing cataract. After consulting with cataract surgeons I was referred to Dr. Lehmann due to his expertise as a cornea and cataract surgeon. Dr. Lehmann’s words to me were “if you were my father, I’d recommend you get a mono-focal lens with intermediate power correction”. He added that I was not a good candidate for the technically advanced lens. He told me it would be best for me to have both lens replaced. We agreed on the surgery date. I was skeptical about setting up the second eye surgery as I didn’t know what the outcome of my first surgery would be. My expectation was to try to get rid of the contact lenses and become functional with glasses. Immediately after my surgery, I was totally amazed at how well I was seeing with the lens and correction I had been given. I immediately confirmed my appointment for the second eye surgery. I had a similar lens placed, and the results again were totally beyond my expectations. I am totally pleased with my vision and the care given to me by Dr. Lehmann’s surgical skills and his lens selections. I have left my hard contact lenses behind and am on my way to getting both eyes to 20/20 with glasses. I highly recommend Dr. Lehmann and his practice if anyone is looking for great professional care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 12, 2022

I am totally amazed and so grateful for the cataract surgery and care I received at Focal Point Vision at the hands of Dr. James Lehmann and staff. Before my surgery, I wore gas permeable hard contact lenses for over 35 years as a result of deformed corneas from Radial Keratotomy surgery. One year back I had successful retinal detachment surgery which quickly lead to a fast growing cataract. After consulting with cataract surgeons I was referred to Dr. Lehmann due to his expertise as a cornea and cataract surgeon. Dr. Lehmann’s words to me were “if you were my father, I’d recommend you get a mono-focal lens with intermediate power correction”. He added that I was not a good candidate for the technically advanced lens. He told me it would be best for me to have both lens replaced. We agreed on the surgery date. I was skeptical about setting up the second eye surgery as I didn’t know what the outcome of my first surgery would be. My expectation was to try to get rid of the contact lenses and become functional with glasses. Immediately after my surgery, I was totally amazed at how well I was seeing with the lens and correction I had been given. I immediately confirmed my appointment for the second eye surgery. I had a similar lens placed, and the results again were totally beyond my expectations. I am totally pleased with my vision and the care given to me by Dr. Lehmann’s surgical skills and his lens selections. I have left my hard contact lenses behind and am on my way to getting both eyes to 20/20 with glasses. I highly recommend Dr. Lehmann and his practice if anyone is looking for great professional care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 19, 2021

I got to say that this is one great place for anyone that has eye problems you can't put a price on your vision they treat you like a person they're there for you from the beginning they make you feel special the staff is super nice and carrying I have seen a couple of eye doctors that couldn't diagnose my eye problem the first day I went they diagnosed my problem they set up the appointment right away I was blind after cataract surgery in my left eye for six months you don't know how it feels when you're used to seeing with both eyes and then losing your sight in one but thanks to the doctor and staff I am gaining my sight back slowly but surely it is like getting a second chance when you feel that there is no hope here is the place to go I highly recommended you will not regret it they will do everything possible to give you back your vision And by the way I want to thank dr. Lehmann couldn't ask for a better doctor More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 29, 2021

I got to say that this is one great place for anyone that has eye problems you can't put a price on your vision they treat you like a person they're there for you from the beginning they make you feel special the staff is super nice and carrying I have seen a couple of eye doctors that couldn't diagnose my eye problem the first day I went they diagnosed my problem they set up the appointment right away I was blind after cataract surgery in my left eye for six months you don't know how it feels when you're used to seeing with both eyes and then losing your sight in one but thanks to the doctor and staff I am gaining my sight back slowly but surely it is like getting a second chance when you feel that there is no hope here is the place to go I highly recommended you will not regret it they will do everything possible to give you back your vision And by the way I want to thank dr. Lehmann couldn't ask for a better doctor More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Google  |  May 01, 2021

I needed to have DMEK at the same time as cataract surgery. Dr Lehmann did an amazing job, I had nearly normal vision in a week. No pain, no complications at all. If you are considering laser cataract surgery and they mention Fuchs dystrophy, do not proceed without seeing Dr Lehmann at Focal Point. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 27, 2021

I needed to have DMEK at the same time as cataract surgery. Dr Lehmann did an amazing job, I had nearly normal vision in a week. No pain, no complications at all. If you are considering laser cataract surgery and they mention Fuchs dystrophy, do not proceed without seeing Dr Lehmann at Focal Point. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from AH  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Oct 23, 2020

Dr. Lehmann is an amazing and a wonderful person. He treated me as though I was a part of his family and cared for my eyes since the beginning. I have always been interested in having LASIK Refractive Surgery but I kept putting it off because I hadn't found the right surgeon, until Dr. Lehmann. He made me feel free to express all of my questions and concerns. His intelligent, genuine demeanor is highly respected and I wouldn't trust my vision to anyone else. (& toady I'm seeing better than 20/20 without any correction!:))show more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from EA  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Oct 23, 2020

Had Lasik Surgery with Dr. Lehmann and am so happy with the results. My vision is 20/20, the entire staff was wonderful. Dr. Lehmann also was very caring even during the procedure he kept asking if I was OK and assuring me everything was going great. Will definitely recomend Focal Point Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 12, 2020

I had LASIK done by Dr. Lehmann, 20/20 vision the very next day! Although the procedure itself was uncomfortable, it was fairly quick & I was back to my normal routine the very next morning! Dr. Lehmann even saw me the next day to make sure I was recovering well, thank you so much! 👀 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 19, 2020

I just had LASIK surgery from Dr. Lehmann. Best money spent hands down. Everything went as smooth as possible. Lehmann is a fantastic surgeon and I highly recommend anyone seeking LASIK surgery to trust the people at Focal Point Vision. Can not thank Dr Lehmann enough, seriously, thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 19, 2020

I just had LASIK surgery from Dr. Lehmann. Best money spent hands down. Everything went as smooth as possible. Lehmann is a fantastic surgeon and I highly recommend anyone seeking LASIK surgery to trust the people at Focal Point Vision. Can not thank Dr Lehmann enough, seriously, thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 05, 2019

Courteous staff, patient friendly! Had cataracts removed,Dr. Lehmann corrected my astigmatism. Highly recommend for LASIK surgery. Best investment I ever made to have 20/20 vision at 66 years old. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jul 18, 2019

Dr. Lehmann is an amazing and a wonderful person. He treated me as though I was a part of his family and cared for my eyes since the beginning. I have always been interested in having LASIK Refractive Surgery but I kept putting it off because I hadn't found the right surgeon, until Dr. Lehmann. He made me feel free to express all of my questions and concerns. His intelligent, genuine demeanor is highly respected andI wouldn't trust my vision to anyone else. (& toady I'm seeing better than 20/20 without any correction!:))show more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Had Lasik Surgery with Dr. Lehmann and am so happy with the results. My vision is 20/20, the entire staff was wonderful. Dr. Lehmann also was very caring even during the procedure he kept asking if I was OK and assuring me everything was going great. Will definitely recomend Focal Point Vision.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Dr. Lehmann is an amazing and a wonderful person. He treated me as though I was a part of his family and cared for my eyes since the beginning. I have always been interested in having LASIK Refractive Surgery but I kept putting it off because I hadn't found the right surgeon, until Dr. Lehmann. He made me feel free to express all of my questions and concerns. His intelligent, genuine demeanor is highly respected and I wouldn't trust my vision to anyone else. (& toady I'm seeing better than 20/20 without any correction!:))read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Had Lasik Surgery with Dr. Lehmann and am so happy with the results. My vision is 20/20, the entire staff was wonderful. Dr. Lehmann also was very caring even during the procedure he kept asking if I was OK and assuring me everything was going great. Will definitely recomend Focal Point Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Dr. Lehmann is an amazing and a wonderful person. He treated me as though I was a part of his family and cared for my eyes since the beginning. I have always been interested in having LASIK Refractive Surgery but I kept putting it off because I hadn't found the right surgeon, until Dr. Lehmann. He made me feel free to express all of my questions and concerns. His intelligent, genuine demeanor is highly respected and I wouldn't trust my vision to anyone else. (& toady I'm seeing better than 20/20 without any correction!:)) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 31, 2015

Amazing results and amazing people...Dr. Lehmann did a great job, I very much recommend Focal Point Vision if your looking to get anything done with your vision!  LASIK is a big blessing, thank God for the technology!  Best investment! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.