Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Antonio, TX Ophthalmologist Kenneth Maverick, M.D.

Patient Feedback

When it comes to your eye health, it's important to make sure you're placing your trust in only the best in the field. Your full team of general care practitioners understands this, which is why many of our peers refer patients to Focal Point Vision regularly. With three convenient locations spread throughout the Greater San Antonio area, our board-certified ophthalmologists are pleased to provide a range of advanced services for men and women experiencing eye complications, ranging from common to highly rare. Utilizing state-of-the-art technology and innovative techniques, we can restore your eye health and enhance your visual acuity. To learn more about the experiences of our past patients, we invite you to browse through our collection of reviews and envision the care you can expect when you visit our San Antonio, TX office.

Filter78 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 16, 2020

Dr. Maverick saw me after I went to an ER for eye pain. I was told that I had a corneal ulcer and to follow up with an Ophthalmologist. He saw me right away and it luckily it was not an ulcer, but was something else and wearing my contacts made it worse. I am so grateful for him and his staff that got me in right away and made me feel so comfortable. I cannot wait until my ICL procedure coming up soon and to be free from contacts and glasses!! More

5.0
Review from N.F.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 02, 2020

Amen, I highly recommend focal point vision because I've recently had cataract surgery on both eyes and still in the healing process. All the staff are very kind, courteous, and so helpful. I'm so very pleased and satisfied with all the treatment I received from Them. Dr. Kenneth Maverick was my surgeon and I highly recommend him to anyone who needs cataract surgery. Stay safe everyone. God Bless More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2020

Dr Maverick did such amazing work, more importantly made me feel I was his only patient to include a call at home checking on me. The staff “ Above and beyond” They knew I was terrified and worked to calm and comfort me. I have already shared my experience with friends who are looking to have their eyes worked on. I have nothing but the best to say about this facility. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 28, 2020

The staff is nice and Dr. Maverick is fantastic More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 07, 2020

My experience at Focal Point Vision was a breath of fresh air after a long and frustrating year of seeking answers to a scary situation. Dr Maverick was the utmost professional and was also able to relate in a very personable way. The biggest thing was, that he listened, to all the frustration and fear and offered information that I needed to feel confident in the vision plan he recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 05, 2020

great personnel and Dr. Maverick was a joy to work with More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 22, 2020

Dr Maverick was my doctor. I was pleased with him as well as the whole staff. I am pleased with my results and would recommend this practice to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 07, 2020

Dr. Maverick and his staff exemplify excellence! They take great care of me and I trust Dr. Maverick's excellent medical opinion. Dr. Maverick takes the time to listen and review records before making any decisions. I feel I am in great hands! Thank you all for such outstanding care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 07, 2020

Dr. Maverick and the staff at Focal Point were very polite and great at explaining the different routes I could go to fixing my Keratoconus. Very happy with my evaluation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2020

Went to Dr. MAverick in 2011.  Was having problems with my eyes and we only had one corneal specialist who didn't know what I had.  Went to another corneal specialist in San Antonio who didn't tell me what I had just said I needed a transplant.  Dr. Maverick did lots of tests and explained what I had which was called Fuchs.  He was patient didn't try and hurry me out and showed me what my Corneas looked like. I had both eyes done and was extremely happy with my results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2020

Went to Dr. MAverick in 2011.  Was having problems with my eyes and we only had one corneal specialist who didn’t know what I had.  Went to another corneal specialist in San Antonio who didn’t tell me what I had just said I needed a transplant.  Dr. Maverick did lots of tests and explained what I had which was called Fuchs.  He was patient didn’t try and hurry me out and showed me what my Corneas looked like. I had both eyes done and was extremely happy with my results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 10, 2020

staff very nice and polite dr maverick did a good job i have excellent vision after surgery More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 05, 2019

I would highly recommend Dr. Maverick to my family and friends. He is an excellent physician. His staff is knowledgeable and efficient! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 05, 2019

I would highly recommend Dr. Maverick to my family and friends. He is an excellent physician. His staff is knowledgeable and efficient! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 27, 2019

The staff was courteous and professional and Dr. Maverick did an outstanding job on my cataract surgery. The procedure was painless and I had a problem-free recovery. My vision is now 20/20 and I no longer need readers unless the print is very small. My vision turned out even better than what Dr. Maverick promised. I'm very happy with the experience overall and highly recommend Focal Point Vision as well as Eye 35, where my surgery was performed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 27, 2019

The staff was courteous and professional and Dr. Maverick did an outstanding job on my cataract surgery. The procedure was painless and I had a problem-free recovery. My vision is now 20/20 and I no longer need readers unless the print is very small. My vision turned out even better than what Dr. Maverick promised. I'm very happy with the experience overall and highly recommend Focal Point Vision as well as Eye 35, where my surgery was performed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 21, 2019

Dr Maverick did my cataract evaluation and surgery on both eyes. He and his team have this process down to a science. Very efficient and smooth process both at his office and at the surgery center. And I found Dr Maverick very fun to talk to. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 21, 2019

Dr Maverick did my cataract evaluation and surgery on both eyes. He and his team have this process down to a science. Very efficient and smooth process both at his office and at the surgery center. And I found Dr Maverick very fun to talk to. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 07, 2019

Dr. Maverick and the entire staff at Focal Point were awesome. If you have cataracts and want to see better...I highly recommend Dr. Maverick and Focal Point Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 22, 2019

Focal Point Vision staff is always very helpful and friendly. I’ve been seeing Dr. Maverick for over 15 years. He’s always professional but friendly. He explains in detail what is happening with your eyes. He performed cataract surgery on both my husband and my eyes. The results for both of us was excellent l highly recommend Dr. Maverick and Focal Point Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 28, 2019

Very professional and Dr Maverick was so easy to talk to. Made me feel very comfortable about having eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 21, 2019

They got me to a retina specialist when I needed one for a detached retina. Dr Maverick took care of a cataract that came following retina service. Better vision in that eye than the other. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 07, 2019

Everyone was so kind and gracious. I really appreciated the overall professionalism. Dr. Maverick really helped me to understand procedures and what to expect. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 06, 2019

Everyone was pleasant and professional. Was ready to answer any questions.Dr. Maverick could not have been any nicer. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 21, 2019

Dr. Maverick is an excellent doctor and is very knowledgeable and explains everything in detail. The office staff gives good service. However, at checkout I am not sure I was charged correctly. The employee may have been new. My copay should have been $40.00 and she insisted that I owed $50.00. I am going to check with my insurance company. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 19, 2019

Dr. Maverick is the best. Everyone is professional & friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 07, 2019

I have been going to Dr. Maverick for about 14 years now. When I started going to him I had an infection in my that caused scarring and it was really bad. Dr. Maverick got the virus to go away when we accomplished that my eye was ready for surgery to replace my cornea. I wasn't ready mentally to do the surgery and thought I would never have it done. Well after years of my family begging me to have the surgery I finally broke and set it up. I had the surgery over a year ago now and everything is great. Dr. Maverick is obviously the best in his field if you do your research and talk to him you will know the facts. He is also the president of the eye bank so you know he is 100% vested in what he does. It also shows when you talk to him that he cares a lot about his patients and his work. There are a few other Drs there also that are top notch for example Dr Lehman is a top Surgeon in the nation also. You will be surrounded by the best Drs America has to offer. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Awesome.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Very personable, kind. Dr. Maverick explained what was going on with my eyes. How long it would take to heal. Explained the eye drops I was to use. I felt very comfortable with Dr. Maverick.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Dr. Maverick and technicians are highly professional and friendly. All the best!read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Wonderful! Answered all my questions, explained treatment plan clearly. Great chairside manner. Team was great, very positive & high energyread more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Excellent. My son was hit by a bat on his brow bone. Dr. Maverick saw him after hours and took great care of him.read more More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jun 06, 2019

Quality care, just long waits in exam rooms to be seen, I was in the office for more than 1.5 hours for routine exam.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Wonderful! Answered all my questions, explained treatment plan clearly. Great chairside manner. Team was great, very positive & high energy More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Dr. Maverick and technicians are highly professional and friendly. All the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Very personable, kind. Dr. Maverick explained what was going on with my eyes. How long it would take to heal. Explained the eye drops I was to use. I felt very comfortable with Dr. Maverick. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Excellent. My son was hit by a bat on his brow bone. Dr. Maverick saw him after hours and took great care of him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Awesome. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  May 16, 2019

Quality care, just long waits in exam rooms to be seen, I was in the office for more than 1.5 hours for routine exam. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.D.  |  Source: Google  |  May 07, 2019

Dr Maverick is personable and an excellent surgeon. He explains procedures well and takes time to answer questions. I’ve had 2 corneal transplants and a cataract surgery. To be able to see well is a gift and his skill to make that possible is incredible. Staff is knowledgeable and nice and no glitches with paperwork and insurance. Highly Recomend Dr Kenneth Maverick! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 27, 2019

I had two Dmeks I 2017 and 2018. The surgeon was Dr. Kenneth Maverick. I have Fuchs Corneal Dystrophy and am very fortunate to say that my surgeries were both successful. Great follow up care also! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 27, 2019

I had two Dmeks I 2017 and 2018. The surgeon was Dr. Kenneth Maverick. I have Fuchs Corneal Dystrophy and am very fortunate to say that my surgeries were both successful. Great follow up care also! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 08, 2019

Dr. Maverick was kind, supporting and informative. He explained every detail of the procedure and answered all my questions.The entire staff were patient and friendly.The atmosphere in the office and from the staff, put me at ease. I will recommend Focal Point Vision highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 08, 2019

Dr. Maverick was kind, supporting and informative. He explained every detail of the procedure and answered all my questions.The entire staff were patient and friendly.The atmosphere in the office and from the staff, put me at ease. I will recommend Focal Point Vision highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 10, 2019

Had cataract surgery on both eyes...the staff & techs were excellent. Thanks to Dr. Maverick & Dr. San Martin for their care. After wearing glasses for 60 years, I no longer need them. God bless! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 08, 2018

Dr. Maverick and his staff are just terrific. The doctor called me personally the evening after surgery just to check on how I was doing. And I can see clearly again! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 30, 2018

DMEK and cataract surgery. My experience from beginning to end with Dr Maverick could not have been better. His office staff can be disorganized and that can be frustrating but my eyesight is my priority and he is the best in my opinion More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 14, 2018

Staff has always been very friendly and responsive. Excellent care for my cataract surgery from Dr. Maverick. Dr. San Martin stayed late one day to do a check on my eyes after a fall from my horse. I was very impressed with him and since them has been managing my glaucoma. He takes time to explain and answer questions . Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 14, 2018

Staff has always been very friendly and responsive. Excellent care for my cataract surgery from Dr. Maverick. Dr. San Martin stayed late one day to do a check on my eyes after a fall from my horse. I was very… More impressed with him and since them has been managing my glaucoma. He takes time to explain and answer questions . Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 23, 2018

My husband had both cataracts removed by Dr Maverick this month. My husband was so pleased by their professionalism,friendliness. Dr Maverick and his staff are awesome and from 1-10 deserve a 15!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 09, 2018

The top notch professional and caring service that I’ve come to expect from Dr. Maverick and all the staff at Focal Point. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 28, 2018

I like Dr Maverick. He is professional and has taken very good care of me. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 28, 2018

Wonderful people. Dr. Maverick and Dr. San Martin are great doctors, answer any and all questions, very personably. No long waits in exam rooms. Front desk staff at Hamilton Wolfe location, as well as Alamo Heights locations very professional and pleasant. �� More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 22, 2018

Highly recommend Dr Maverick, who performed my caterick surgery, and lasik to correct my vision. I was wearing glasses with bifocals, and for distance. So happy to be free from glasses, and to have my new, near perfect vision. Dr Maverick is a true professional and attentive to any followup needed. The staff is also terrific More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 22, 2018

Highly recommend Dr Maverick, who performed my caterick surgery, and lasik to correct my vision. I was wearing glasses with bifocals, and for distance. So happy to be free from glasses, and to have my new, near perfect vision. Dr Maverick is a true professional and attentive to any followup needed. The staff is also terrific More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 20, 2018

Very happy that my ophthalmologist recommended Dr Maverick and team for my weird eyes! My corneas are not great. Dr. San Martin tried his best to get my RX right and I’m so grateful! A great staff is always helpful also; so courteous and professional! ‭ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 20, 2018

Very happy that my ophthalmologist recommended Dr Maverick and team for my weird eyes! My corneas are not great. Dr. San Martin tried his best to get my RX right and I’m so grateful! A great staff is always helpful also; so courteous and professional! ‭ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 12, 2018

Very professional staff. The whole process was very organized too. The staff and Dr. Maverick were very nice! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jan 31, 2018

Excellent discussion of options re cataract surgery. Terrific personality and, of course, excellent surgical reputation.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jan 31, 2018

Excellent discussion of options re cataract surgery. Terrific personality and, of course, excellent surgical reputation. More

3.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 07, 2017

I've gone to this practice for over 20 years. However, the M.D. I had been seeing retired. This was my 2nd visit to Dr. Maverick. I had requested and received the "earliest appointment" (8am). I arrived @ 7:35. I was not called until 9am. That is unacceptable yet no explanation was given by staff or the Doctor. The Doctor was brief and to the point during the examination which was acceptable. But my time is valuable, too. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 29, 2017

Dr Maverick did a great job of expalaining the procedure. The surgery went very smoothly just as he said. The follow up visit was great. Overall awesome experience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 29, 2017

Dr Maverick did a great job of expalaining the procedure. The surgery went very smoothly just as he said. The follow up visit was great. Overall awesome experience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 12, 2017

Undoubtedly the best experience with any medical professional I have ever had. I was so pleasantly surprised to receive a call from Dr Maverick the night of my surgery. They truly deliver "Disney" customer service as well as 1st Class care. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 13, 2017

Dr. Maverick is great. We never have to wait a long time and get in and out as fast as possible. Everyone very friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 07, 2017

Dr. Maverick and the Focal Point Vision Team are just the best! I had cataract surgery in both eyes. I found it painless and my sight went from not being able to read signs nor see very far at all to 20/20. It was meaningful to me that everyone involved in the surgery was caring, professional and made my short stay very comfortable. A special touch was getting a call from Dr. Maverick the evening of the surgery just to see how I was doing. Now, that is caring. Dell More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 16, 2017

Doctors are excellent. Especially Dr Ken Maverick. I had cataract surgery on both eyes last year by Dr Maverick and he was excellent. He has a great bedside manner and is very courteous. The staff is wonderful. Would definitely recommend them.�� More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Feb 15, 2017

Dr. Maverick provided an outstanding level of detail regarding the condition of my eyes, what to expect and what actions to take. read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Feb 15, 2017

Dr. Maverick provided an outstanding level of detail regarding the condition of my eyes, what to expect and what actions to take. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 03, 2016

I've already recommended Dr. Maverick to several friends. He excels in his practice, but equally important is his bedside manner. He thoroughly explains what is going on, and has a warm welcomeness to his approach.Dr. Maverick exemplifies what every doctor should aspire to be. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 30, 2016

Technically excellent, yet with a wonderful friendly, laid back manner, making him very very easy to talk to. Best of both worlds! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 15, 2016

Focal Point Vision is the ONLY place I will go for the health of my eyes! Dr. Maverick has restored vision in my right eye and I am eternally grateful! I CAN SEE!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 15, 2016

Focal Point Vision is the ONLY place I will go for the health of my eyes! Dr. Maverick has restored vision in my right eye and I am eternally grateful! I CAN SEE!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 16, 2016

All previous fears about cataract surgery completely unfounded! Dr. Maverick, Dr. Saunders (anesthesiologist) and their team were great. I can't wait to get my other eye done! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  May 04, 2016

Five Stars - Sweet Doctor, and he took his time with us. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 13, 2016

Dr. Maverick is very professional, but has great bed-side manner. My husband and I are thrilled to have found Dr. Maverick and his staff for our eye needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 26, 2015

Five Stars - Dr Maverick took the time to answer all my questions! He and his team were wonderful!!!I will highly recommend Focal Point Vision to my family and friends! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 23, 2015

Courteous, professional, kind and GREAT at what they do. I highly recommend Dr. Maverick and the whole staff (especially Alyssa!). My PRK surgery has been an easy process thanks to Focal Point. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.